Our Work - Trials

Trial Principal Investigator CNTN Review Status Contact
PHASE: Pilot Hemodialysis Patients undergoing aldosterone antagonism with Eplerenone

Michael Walsh

Ron Wald

Fall 2011 Study Complete

lastwalsh1975@gmail.com

waldr@smh.ca

TARGET: Two phosphAte taRGets in End-stage renal disease Trial: Intensive vs liberalized phosphate control in hemodialysis recipients

Ron Wald

Michael Walsh

Fall 2011

Updated Nov 4, 2015

Study Complete

waldr@smh.ca

lastwalsh1975@gmail.com

Pediatric nephrotic syndrome Susan Samuel April 2012 Recruiting Participants s.samuel@albertahealthservices.ca
Fluid for CIAKI prevention Swapnil Hiremath Jan 17, 2012 Study Complete shiremath@toh.on.ca
RoSIE: Routine use of SSRI’s at the Initiation of End-stage Renal Disease Treatment Vanita Jassal Feb 23, 2012 Recruiting Participants vanita.jassal@uhn.ca
TESTING: Therapeutic Evaluation of Steroids in IgA Nephropathy Global study Michelle Hladunewich Sean Barbour

Aug 2012

Updated ASN 2016

Not currently recruiting

michelle.hladunewich@sunnybrook.ca

sean.barbour@vch.ca

PISCES: Protection against Incidences of Serious Cardiovascular Events Study with Daily Fish Oil Supplementation in Dialysis Patients Charmaine Lok

Aug 2012

Updated ASN 2016

Recruiting Participants Charmaine.Lok@uhn.ca
ACCESS HD: A randomized trial Comparing Catheters to fistulas in Elderly patients Starting dialysiS

     Rob Quinn      

Pietro Ravani

Aug 2013

Updated Nov 4 2015 

Updated ASN 2016

Recruiting Participants

rob.quinn@albertahealthservices.ca

pravani@ucalgary.ca

ACCESS: Assessing outcomes of enhanced Chronic disease Care through patient Education and a value-baSed formulary Study

Braden Manns

David Campbell

Jan 15 2014 Recruiting Participants

braden.manns@albertahealthservices.ca

dcampbel@ucalgary.ca

Blood Volume Monitoring Guided Biofeedback on Reduction of Intra-dialytic Hypotensive Episodes in Hemodialysis: A randomized cross over study Kelvin Leung Aug 2013 Study Complete kelvin.leung@albertahealthservices.ca
Vitamin D Supplementation and Cardiac Autonomic Tone in Hemodialysis Patients:  A Blinded, Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial Sofia Ahmed Aug 2013 Recruiting Participants sofia.ahmed@albertahealthservices.ca
Effect of Exercise Rehabilitation in Incident Hemodialysis Patients: an RCT (Pilot)

Clara Bohm

Jennifer MacRae

Aug 2013

Recruiting Participants

CBOHM@exchange.hsc.mb.ca

jennifer.macrae@albertahealthservices.ca

Effect of Exercise Rehabilitation in Incident Hemodialysis Patients: an RCT

Clara Bohm

Jennifer MacRae

Updated Jan 2016 Recruiting Participants

CBOHM@exchange.hsc.mb.ca

jennifer.macrae@albertahealthservices.ca

STARRT-AKI: STandard vs Accelerated Renal Replacement Therapy for Acute Kidney Injury

Ron Wald

Sean Bragshaw

March 2014

Updated Nov 4 2015

Recruiting Participants waldr@smh.ca
FINISHED 2 TRIAL First Nation Community Based Screening to Improve Kidney Health and Prevent Dialysis 2 Paul Komenda August 2014 Planning paulkomenda@yahoo.com
The iPACK-HD study Rachel Holden

Feb 2015

Updated Jan 19 2016

Recruiting Participants holdenr@kgh.kari.net
Cluster RCT comparing bio feedback with standard dialysis Gihad Nesrallah Nov 12 2014 On hold gnesrallah@hrrh.on.ca
D-Salt Trial Rita Suri Nov 12 2014 Study Complete rsuri.kidney@gmail.com
STOP-HARM: Strategy to prevent hemmorrhage with Anticoagulation in renal disease managment Mike Walsh

Nov 12 2014

Updated ASN 2016

Recruiting Participants lastwalsh1975@gmail.com
Early fluid therapy for prevention of haemolytic uremic syndrome Susan Samuel April 26 2015 N/A s.samuel@albertahealthservices.ca
STEC, Hydration, and HUS Stephan Freedman Nov 20,2014 Planning Stephen.Freedman@albertahealthservices.ca
Effect of the efficacy and timeliness of meeting brain-dead donor management goals on the development of delayed graft function in kidney transplant patients Josée Bouchard April 26 2015 Recruiting Participants joseebouchard123@yahoo.ca
Psychosocial and Ethno-cultural Barriers to Living Donor Kidney Transplantation; prospective observational; Istvan Mucsi April 26 2015 Recruiting Participants Istvan.mucsi@utoronto.ca
Reducing barriers in access to kidney transplantation: implementing the “Explore Transplant” education program to increase patient knowledge and to facilitate informed decision making - a pilot study prospective, non-randomized, controlled pilot Istvan Mucsi April 26 2015 Planning Istvan.mucsi@utoronto.ca
Circulating fibrocytes in renal disease Peter Margetts April 26 2015 Recruitment complete margetts@mcmaster.ca
Ischemia Trial (CAD Management in CKD Stage 4-5)

Ron Wald

François Madore

April 26 2015 Recruiting Participants

waldr@smh.ca

f.madore@umontreal.ca

Systematic screening guided management of psychosocial distress among patients treated with maintenance dialysis – a randomized, controlled trial Marta Novak April 26 2015 N/A marta@nefros.net
ACHIEVE: Aldosterone antagonism and enhanced Clearance for Health Improvement EValuation in End-stage renal disease Mike Walsh

Nov 4, 2015

updated ASN 2016

Planning lastwalsh1975@gmail.com
A randomized controlled effectiveness trial for the early detection and treatment of rejection using chemokine surveillance Julie Ho January 19, 2016 Planning jho@exchange.hsc.mb.ca
Metformin to slow progression of AKPKD (IMPED Andrew Mallett ASN 2016   andrew.mallett@health.qld.gov.au
Canadian Australasian Randomized Trial of Scree John Gill ASN 2016   JGill@providencehealth.bc.ca
Knowledge translation interventions to improve

Navdeep Tangri

Braden Manns

ASN 2016   ntangri@sogh.mb.ca
      Braden.Manns@ahs.ca
Comparison of two dialysate sodium levels in HD Meg Jardine ASN 2016   mjardine@georgeinstitute.org.au
Optimal fluid post transplantation (BEST-FLUIDS) Michael Collins ASN 2016   Michael.Collins@adhb.govt.nz
RDN in loin pain hematuria syndrome Bhanu Prasad ASN 2016   bprasad@sasktel.net
Diabetes renal disease cell therapy trial (DIRECT Richard Gillbert ASN 2016   richard.gilbert@utoronto.ca
Derivation, validation and implementation of a ri Sean Barbour ASN 2016   sean.barbour@vch.ca
Biomarkers for pediatric AKI Michael Zappitelli ASN 2016   mzaprdr@yahoo.ca